Wednesday, February 19, 2014

Pope Creates 18 New Cardinals Saturday

In St. Peter's Basilica at 11 a.m. on Saturday 22 February Pope Francis will celebrate an ordinary public consistory for the creation of eighteen new cardinals during which he will impose the biretta, consign the ring and assign them their title or diaconate, according to a communique released today by the Office of Liturgical Celebrations of the Supreme Pontiff.
The same afternoon, from 4.30 to 6.30 p.m., the new cardinals will receive all those who wish to pay them a courtesy visit, in the following locations in the Paul VI Hall and Apostolic Palace:
Atrium of the Paul VI Hall: Cardinals Vincent Gerard Nichols, LeopoldoJose Brenes Solorzano, Gerald Cyprien Lacroix, I.S.P.X., Jean-Pierre Kutwa, Fernando Sebastian Aguilar, C.M.F. and Kelvin Edward Felix.
Paul VI Hall: Cardinals Andrew Yeom Soo-Jung, Ricardo Ezzati Andrello, S.D.B., Philippe Nakellentuba Ouedraogo, Orlando B. Quevedo, O.M.I., Chibly Langlois, Orani Joao Tempesta, O. Cist., Gualtiero Bassetti and Mario Aurelio Poli.
Sala Regia of the Apostolic Palace: Cardinals Pietro Parolin and Lorenzo Baldisseri.
Sala Ducale of the Apostolic Palace: Cardinals Gerhard Ludwig Muller and Beniamino Stella.

On Sunday 23 February, at 10 a.m. in the Vatican basilica, the Holy Father will preside at a concelebrated Mass with the new cardinals.

No comments: