Thursday, October 28, 2010

Christie Appoints Education Task Force Members

Today, New jersey Governor Chris Christie announced the appointment of members to the newly created Education Effectiveness Task Force. The nine member Task Force, established by Executive Order No. 42, is charged with recommending a fair and transparent system of educator evaluations that centers on student learning and achievement. The recommendations must center on a fair and transparent system of educator evaluations that fairly weigh measuring student achievement and utilizing demonstrated practices of effective teachers and leaders. The Task Force shall provide the Governor with an initial report no later than March 1, 2011. Governor Chris Christie stated, “Teachers are the single most important factor in a student’s success in school. But today, the current method for evaluating the performance and effectiveness of educators throughout New Jersey is inadequate and unrelated to the most important goal we have as parents, educators and leaders: how well our children are learning.
“Today, I’ve appointed nine New Jerseyans to identify and recommend a system of evaluating New Jersey’s teachers and principals that puts results for our children at the core of these assessments. I look forward to reviewing the final recommendations of this distinguished group and moving forward with needed reforms that ensure every New Jersey child has access to a quality education with effective, accountable teachers at every step along the way,” the Governor concluded.
The Task Force will be chaired by Brian Zychowsky, Superintendent of Schools in North Brunswick Township, and include as members: Derrell Bradford, Executive Director and Director of Communications for Excellent Education for Everyone (E3); Jesse Rector, Clinton Hill Campus President of North Star Academy Charter School; Ross Danis, Associate Dean of Education at Drew University; Donna Chiera, an Executive of the American Federation of Teachers and Special Education Resource Teacher; Rafael Fajardo, former President of the Elizabeth Board of Education; Rev. Edwin Leahy, Headmaster of St. Benedict’s Prep in Newark; Jane Cosco, retired teacher and Director of Operation Goody Bag; and Peggy Sue Juliano, Executive Board Member of the Lacy Township High School PTA. These direct appointments by the Governor do not require Senate confirmation.

No comments: