Thursday, October 25, 2018

IMPRESSIVE: A Prestigious National Honor!

Margaret Egan, Principal of Saints Peter and Paul Catholic School in West Chester (Chester County), was announced by United States Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos as one of the 2018 recipients of the Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership on Tuesday, October 23rd.

The 11 principals selected from the 2018 cohort of National Blue Ribbon Schools will be honored during the National Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony on Wednesday, November 7th in Washington, D.C.  

Dr. Andrew McLaughlin, Secretary for Elementary Education in the Archdiocese of Philadelphia, reacted to the announcement by saying, “In addition to our eight National Blue Ribbon Schools this year, we have even more reason to celebrate.  We are very proud of Mrs. Egan for achieving this national recognition as an outstanding school leader.  She is a shining example of the talented and dedicated leadership in the Catholic parish and regional schools throughout the Archdiocese of Philadelphia.  I offer her prayerful best wishes and congratulations on this very deserving accolade.”

Earlier this month  Our Lady of Mount Carmel School in Doylestown (Bucks County), Saint Jude School in Chalfont (Bucks County), Saint Joseph – Saint Robert School in Warrington (Bucks County), Saint Katharine Drexel School in Holland (Bucks County), Saints Peter and Paul Catholic School in West Chester (Chester County), Saint Mary Magdalen School in Media (Delaware County), Our Lady of Mercy Regional Catholic School in Maple Glen (Montgomery County), and Mater Dei Regional Catholic School in Lansdale (Montgomery County)  were selected as part of the 2018 cohort of National Blue Ribbon Schools in an announcement made by Secretary DeVos.

In a statement released earlier today by the USDOE Secretary DeVos said about this year’s 11 Terrel H. Bell award winners, “We know strong school leadership is a driving force behind ensuring students and teachers succeed,” said Secretary DeVos. “I’m pleased to recognize these talented Bell Award winners who are helping to lead needed transformations at the most local level. Through their leadership, vision and effort, countless students – regardless of their family income, race or language proficiency – are able to excel.”

Named for the second U. S. Secretary of Education, the Bell Award honors school leaders who are committed to education and improving outcomes for all students. The award is part of the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program. Principals are nominated by their school communities during the final stages of the National Blue Ribbon Schools application process.
The 2018 recipients are:
Special Lifetime of Leadership Awardee:
Brief summaries of each recipient’s work are also available at
The U.S. Department of Education, together with the National Association of Elementary School Principals, the Association for Middle Level Education, and the National Association of Secondary School Principals, present the Bell Awards.

# # #

  Editor's Notes: For information about Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Philadelphia, please visit  For a complete list of 2018 National Blue Ribbon Schools, please visit

Founded in 1982, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students perform at very high levels or where significant improvements are being made in students' academic achievement.  Since the program's founding, the U.S. Department of Education has bestowed this coveted award on more than 8,500 of America's schools.

No comments: