Sunday, March 23, 2014

NCAA Ice Hockey Finals Tkts On Sale Now

The NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee has selected the 16 teams that will be participating in the 2014 NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship.

The championship playoff format involves four predetermined regional sites with four teams assigned to each site. The four regional winners advance to the Men’s Frozen Four, which will take place on Thursday, April 10 and Saturday, April 12 at Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia. The entire championship uses a single-elimination format.

Automatic qualification privileges are granted to the postseason champions of the five conferences. The remainder of the field is selected at large.

University of Minnesota, Twin Cities was the No. 1 overall seed. The other No. 1 seeds, in order, included Boston College, Union College (New York), and the University of Wisconsin, Madison.

The dates, sites, times and pairings of this year’s championship are as follows:

East Regional, March 28-29
at Webster Bank Arena, Bridgeport, Connecticut

Friday, March 28, 2 p.m. Eastern time, ESPNU/WatchESPN No. 1 Union (New York) (28-6-4) vs. No. 4 Vermont (20-14-3)

Friday, March 28, 5:30 p.m. Eastern time, ESPNU/WatchESPN No. 2 Quinnipiac (24-9-6) vs. No. 3 Providence (21-10-6)

Saturday, March 29, 3 p.m. Eastern time, ESPN2/WatchESPN East Regional Championship

Midwest Regional, March 28-29 at U.S. Bank Arena, Cincinnati, Ohio

Friday, March 28, 4:30 p.m. Eastern time, ESPN3/WatchESPN ESPN3 (ESPNU same-day re-air – Friday, March 28, 10:30 p.m. Eastern time)

No. 2 Ferris State (28-10-3) vs. No. 3 Colgate (20-13-5)

Friday, March 28, 8 p.m. Eastern time, ESPNU/WatchESPN No. 1 Wisconsin (24-10-2) vs. No. 4 North Dakota (23-13-3)

Saturday, March 29, 6:30 p.m. Eastern time, ESPNU/WatchESPN Midwest Regional Championship

Northeast Regional, March 29-30 
at DCU Center, Worcester, Massachusetts

Saturday, March 29, 4 p.m. Eastern time, ESPNU/WatchESPN No. 1 Boston College (26-7-4) vs. No. 4 Denver (20-15-6)

Saturday, March 29, 7:30 p.m. Eastern time, ESPN3/WatchESPN ESPN3 (ESPNU same-day re- air – Saturday, March 29, 11:30 p.m. Eastern time)

No. 2 Massachusetts-Lowell (25-10-4) vs. No. 3 Minnesota State Mankato (26-13-1)

Sunday, March 30, 5 p.m. Eastern time, ESPNU/WatchESPN Northeast Regional Championship

West Regional, March 29-30 at
Xcel Energy Center, Saint Paul, Minnesota

Saturday, March 29, 5:30 p.m. Eastern time, ESPN2/WatchESPN No. 1 Minnesota (25-6-6) vs. No. 4 Robert Morris (19-17-5)

Saturday, March 29, 9 p.m. Eastern time, ESPNU/WatchESPN No. 2 Notre Dame (23-14-2) vs. No. 3 St. Cloud State (21-10-5)

Sunday, March 30, 7:30 p.m. Eastern time, ESPNU/WatchESPN
West Regional Championship

Men’s Frozen Four, April 10 and 12
 Wells Fargo Center, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Thursday, April 10, 5 and 8:30 p.m. Eastern time, ESPN2/WatchESPN (order of games TBD) Midwest Regional Champion vs. West Regional Champion
East Regional Champion vs. Northeast Regional Champion

Saturday, April 12, 7:30 p.m. Eastern time, ESPN/WatchESPN National Championship

The following conferences and teams received automatic qualification:

Atlantic Hockey Association – Robert Morris
Big Ten Conference – Wisconsin
ECAC Hockey – Union (New York)
Hockey East Association – Massachusetts-Lowell
National Collegiate Hockey Conference - Denver
Western Collegiate Hockey Association – Minnesota State Mankato

For more information about the championship, log on to

Tickets to attend the highly-anticipated 2014 NCAA Men's Frozen Four at the Wells Fargo Center on Thursday, April 10 and Saturday, April 12, are on sale now exclusively through ComcastTIX, online, by phone at 1-800-298-4200, or in person at Wells Fargo Center box office.

Each package includes one ticket to the two semifinal games on Thursday, April 10, and one ticket to the national championship game on Saturday, April 12.

No comments: